anxiety causing muscles to stiffen

Posted , 5 users are following.

Does anyone else have this  problem. My anxiety is making my calf muscles stiffen I have no control over this . I have been stuggling with anxiety for 3 years it started slowly and has progressed to this I am afraid I am becoming agoraphobic as it happens  when i go out.Anyone have any ideas? this is really disrupting my life.

1 like, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Yes sweetie, It happens to me. What I try to do is place my hands on the arms of my chair with my feet flat on the floor. I take in deep breaths and count from one two ten and back again. This helps me to focus and relax my muscles. If it happens while you are out, you could try to lean against a wall, with your hands flat against it and try the same thing.x
    • Posted

I have tried tapping it is based on acupucture it does actually work but not for the muscle problem you might try it. You tube has many videos on how to do it.I know it sounds all new age but it can't hurt and it might help
  • Posted

I totally know what you're going through Carol,

I have suffered from stiffening of the legs/calves each time i get a panic attack and it does indeed prevent me from going out sometimes.

I think it's just par for the course when it comes to anxiety attacks unfortunately.

It might be a good idea to see your GP and see if they can give you something to calm your nerves down - could be Valium or Propanonal.

Let us know how you get on.

Zoe x

• Posted

Thank you for your reply this has been building for three years it happened before, 7 years ago, T I have nny ssri because of side effects. No one told me this would come back,Should have known.I have ativan but only use it if I go out and try not to use it
  • Posted