Anxiety/depression and working

Posted , 4 users are following.

I sometimes have thoughts that I want to quit my job and just stay at home with my anxiety and depression because it feels too much.

When I deal with people at work I feel I need to pretend that everything is fine when it's not! I deal with managers, directors, team leaders, shift leaders all day long and I bet none of them can tell that anything is wrong with me. I'm a pro at hiding it but it's so draining.

Im on the verge of quitting my job with nothing lined up. I won't though as something inside me won't let me. As much as I don't want to go in work each day I have always managed to struggle in.

Quitting my job would make a bad situation worse anyway, rent, bills, my precious broadband cost for my beloved PS4 etc...

Does anyone else struggle with work? Holding down a job or feeling terrible when you are there?

1 like, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

yeah indeed, working with depression and anxiety sure is no easy task. ive thought many times that it would be easier to just quit when things get tough. but like everyone theres bills to pay and food to put on the table, theres very few people id imagine who could just up and quit a job.  being off sick isnt much of a help either, when things are long term it just ends up causing problems in work.  is a tough decision,
    • Posted

What do you do then to get by? Just ride it out?
    • Posted

I spend as much time in therapy as I can, anxiety and depression don't generally go away without treatment, and pills for me are just a sticking plaster.
  • Posted

I have also been dealing with on and off dizzy spells almost a year now and no doctor will look into it cause I have anxiety so they always put it off to just that but it really freaks me out its almost as it I'm going to fall over or the room is spinning and yes mine is worst at work somehow that makes me feel a little better cause I tell myseft if it wasn't my anxiety it wouldn't go away