Anxiety, depression, hopelessness, coping at christmas..

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi everyone, 

So I'm a 20 year old student. I have anxiety and depression. It's been pretty severe the past few months. I've been going to acute day hospital, but it hasn't made anything better. I take mirtazapine, propanolol and amisulpride, but they only take the edge off a bit. 

I've been feeling pretty hopeless. I don't think things will get better. I took an overdose a week ago but it wasn't enough to do much. I still feel suicidal. 

I had a chat with my care coordinator today and she pretty much told me I need to actually try to get better (because it's got to the stage where I can't be bothered to try anymore). I'm just finding this hard, because I can't imagine things getting better.

Part of the anxiety I really struggle with is feeling sick, and this stops me eating properly. This normally gets worse when I go home, and especially also at Christmas when I'm expected to be around lots of people and eat lots of food. I was wondering how people cope at Christmas? Does anyone else have these problems?

Thanks for listening.

Amy

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi Amy what support do you have? Friends family? What do fe is the main cause of these issues? I've been suffering but what I've realised is you have to just try And live with these feelings and focus on as much of the good as possible, do you work? The best thing is to stay busy with these that make you feel good, where all on here to help.

X

• Posted

MY anxiety is the same has it nearly 10 years and am 26. I get stomach anxiety like sever case of butterflies and knotting that causes me frantic cleaning to calm it I take citalopram and used to take trazadone and prozac. I don't really cope with mime just try my best to calm the fire in my stomach. X
    • Posted