Anxiety? Need help/Advice

Posted , 3 users are following.

I need some advice, a few months ago my boyfriends brother was in a car accident (hit & run) he was seriously hurt but thankfully getting better now. 

For some reason this seems to have affected me deeply and I've become extremely nervous when driving. I'm a good driver, careful always check my mirrors don't drive over the speed limit etc but I'm terrified of knocking someone over etc.

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Sorry I'll continue here....

I'm so scared it has gotten to the point where if I forget to check in one of my mirrors I have to turn round and check where I have just been to make sure I haven't hit a car or hit a person. I even check local police sites for any hit and run incidents. I would never run away from something like that but I worry what if I did hit someone and didn't realise and I carried on going, I would be in so much trouble.

I feel like I'm going insane but I can't seem to shake this worry. I've spoken to my sister about it and she said I will get over it soon enough. 

I've tried taking vitamins, tried meditating, tried writing my thoughts down but it hasn't worked. 

Please does anyone have anything they can recommend? I can't not drive as my work requires me to. 

I'm so scared I won't get over this. Please help

Thanks

• Posted

Sorry, I think we were both typing at the same time.

As you're obviously experiencing some major issues I would definitely go and have a chat with your GP.  They will be able to refer you for counselling or suggest some things that may help.

• Posted

Hi Freddo.  I think this is a reasonable reaction to what has happened as you've seen what damage a car can do to a person.