Anybody any information about lexapro?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi guys, this is my first time on this site, thanks for taking the time to read my post. I'm 32, separated mother of two. I have always been happy go lucky and very laid back. But the past twelve months have been hard, I have had 5 operations that took it's toll on me, and my marriage broke up. Then I started getting chest pains, and I suppose like everyone else I thought this was it, I'm dying of a heart attack. Then came pains in my back, stomach problems, feeling a huge lump in my throat, heart palpitations, you name it I got it. I went straight to my doctor and she explained to me that no I was not going to die but that it was anxiety.  She put me on 5mg of lexapro for 4 days and then 10mg for 6 weeks, then 15mg. I had been doing great on the 10mg but after a couple of weeks the symptoms all came back again. I'm 2 weeks on the 15mg but I have had two awful days now, I didn't sleep a wink last night and had to come home early from work today because I can't get rid of the elephants in my tummy!! I just feel so on edge! Any advice would be welcome. 

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi Amy,

Sorry to hear your story,

I wasn't on lexapro but I was on citalopram for 6 years,

You'll probably be thinking that it was good for me and it was I suppose.. To an extent, I started on 10mg then upped to 40mg daily,

Life went on and I was just dealing with my anxiety and realised after a long time that this was not the right medication for me, 

I won't say anything bad against it but it wasn't great,

Good luck 

• Posted

Thank you kennybhoy for replying to me. I suppose I'm luckier than most because I know it's anxiety so I'm not back and forth to the hospital. It's just I want to shake off this feeling but I can't, it's so frustrating. My son is 10 and my daughter is 4 and they both need me, I can't afford to be lying around feeling miserable.