Asking for help..

Posted , 8 users are following.

I’m new to this but really need some support.

I’m currently suffering alcohol withdrawal symptoms when I attempt to stop drinking. I was drinking around a bottle and a half of wine an evening for around 6 months, this has increased to two bottles of wine for the past 2 months and has now lead to me having to have a drink at lunch time to curb the withdrawal symptoms and to continue drinking throughout the day. When I stop drinking I get extremely shaky, my heart palpitates and often beats over 100 (until I have a drink to reduce it), I get sweaty and hot and my body starts to involuntarily jerk feeling like I’m going to pass out. 

This has lead to me being off work, missing university exams and generally secluding me from everyone. I feel like it’s ruining my life. 

I would like some help to stop the drinking, I have tried to gradually reduce the alcohol I am in taking but the symptoms get so bad I get scared I am going to have a heart attack or pass out. 

I tried to get some help from my GP and she advised me to contact a detox service. I called them and the lady I spoke was so rude and said you shouldn’t be getting withdrawals from that amount of alcohol and just said theirs nothing they can do for me and that I should switch to miniatures rather than bottles. 

Has anyone else had a similar experience when asking for help? What did you do?

Thanks in advance 

1 like, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Yes I go to addaction where I'm on a reduced programme I've been hospital twice last month with exactly the same withdrawal symptoms you have to do it very gradually I was also prescribed campronol but that didn't stop the cravings so it was a waste of time hope you succeed if you need to detox yourself then admit yourself to a n e they have to help then but it's a long process

• Posted