Back at work & suffering

Posted , 9 users are following.

Hi I'm a 51 year old carpenter , 14 weeks since I had TkR @ patella lined because of arthritis. I have been back at work for 3 weeks on light duties but am on my feet all day. Before returning to work I managrd about 110 * bend but now I'm struggling to be past 90*. Still trying to do my exercisees but by the end of the day Im finding the ligaments on the side of my knee & especially above are just too tight feeling like I've got a tight elastic band around it.

Beginning to feel that I will never regain the bend & will struggle to continue with my work, hoping someone can advise me when this tightness will go allowing to get back to normal.

1 like, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

I had TKR nearly 3 years ago. Although it is fine now it took a long time to get the bend in my knee. Realistically I reckon you can say about a year before it really is back to normal. Having said that, my knee is now so much better than it was before I had replacement it is like having my life back, so there is hope at the end of the tunnel.

Keep me posted.

Sarah

• Posted

I don't have an answer for you I'm afraid all I can say is that the older we are the longer the body takes to heal. I also think that as long as you continue to do the exercises the more likely the ligaments will loosen up. I have arthritis in my knee and when it first started I thought I was going to have to give up going for long walks etc but I have done the exercises given me, used the cream and taken the paracetamol and things are slowly getting better. At 61 things do take longer to mend...the other thing is we are likely to get more things wrong with us to contend with!  All part of the joy of ageing!
  • Posted