Been dealing with anxiety for a year and a half...

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi all, 

This is my first post here, but I've often researched my symptoms and have been taken to this site, and some of the discussions here have really set my mind at ease.  Just wanted to tell you all that you are awesome first.

I'm 24, and have been suffering from anxiety for a year and a half now, ever since I graduated college.  I also tried smoking weed for the first time the summer after graduation, and I think I over did it because I experienced a panic attack about half an hour later.  I was afraid I was going to stop breathing, and couldn't stop shaking.  I was freezing, but needed an ice-pack to calm down.  It was the first time in my life that I had felt fragile.  

Since then, I've had so many symptoms of anxiety that I've lost count.  As soon as one thing goes away, something else comes around.  

I've had:

-dizziness & light-headedness

-stomach pains

-tightness in the throat

-feeling like there's a lump in my throat

-shortness of breath

-feeling like I can't take a deep breath half the time

-random chest pains, due to either the the anxiety or me trying to compensate for my shortness of breath by breathing too deep

-quick, short exhales, like a nervous tick I think

-LOTS of GERD (stomach acid coming back into the esophagus) (rarely a day goes by without this; i drink soda, I know I should stop, and I think I overeat at meals to deal with stress)

-heart palpitations (these are the scariest)