BPPV

Posted , 5 users are following.

I have been diagnosed with BPPV by my neurologist - I also have MS.

I have had BPPV 5 times since 2010 and it has always been resolved by GP carrying out the Eppley manoeuvre on me - this time it has been unsuccessful, I am waiting for an appointment with ENT.

I am doing the Brandt Daroff exercises. I am on my second week of doing this.I read on this forum about "speeding" up these up in the exercises on the second week. What does this mean? Would be grateful for any other advice to help speed up my recovery from this disabling/annoying thing! I'd like my life back! I'm now 2 months in. I work as a Paramedic. Cheers.

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hi Kirsty

You mention you have had it 5 times is it just short spells ?

Can I also ask have you ever had problems with your eyes being out of focus ? Oh and also has any of the 5 times been as bad as the first time it happened ?

Thanks ( I am 8 weeks in but still a little bit to go I think )

• Posted

Hi - thanks for replying.

I've had it 5 times since 2010 lasting approx 2 weeks.

From what I remember the first few times it felt worse - but I thought that may be because i didn't understand what it was.

No problems with my eyes.

What is your diagnosis?

• Posted

Hi Kirsty

Really not sure what's up with me I was really bad to start with but now I seem to get these twists in my head but only lasts a few seconds also very spaced out feeling like what it would be like walking in space I suppose also a bit blurry vision had that for 8 or 9 weeks it's so annoying

• Posted

I would seek outa Neurotologist for a more accurate diagnosis. Sounds more like Ménière's versus BPPV based on the ongoing recurrence. No new MS lesions?
    • Posted