Button Plasma Turp vs Rezum

Posted , 10 users are following.

Has anyone out there done a comparative analysis between the Button Plasma Turp and the Rezum procedures? I'm kind of struggling to choose one of the two and wondering if any of you chose one over the other,  why and how it turned out?. 

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

I am no expert, but I know my Urologist has been doing button turp for about 2-3 years - before that he did Green Light - he told me button turp was less messy and painful. He also started doing Rezum I think because others in his practice started doing it. I asked his assistant how he likes doing Rezum and she said he prefers button turp. My guess is that with a turp he can be more sure he carves out any tissue causing obstruction.

I'll be interested to see what you find out.

• Posted

Not even a choice IMO. Do Rezum first!!! Rezum is an outpatient procedure (an hour total for most) that can be done without anesthesia - although I'd recommend being twilighted as it can hurt a lot. There are virtually no horrible outcomes possible if its a total failure and in the overwhelming number of cases it does the job. Worst case scenario is Retro (dry) Ejaculation. Their study says it happens 3% of the time - anecdotally the number is probably closer to 10%.

Button TURP is a full blown surgery. Recovery times really vary - some are pretty functional in a week, others are still using pads at 3 months. In good hands, this procedure should work fine and leave you intact - but if something goes wrong, (this is rare, but it can happen) you can end up incontinent, impotent or both. And for the most part, at 6 months the result of both options is about the same.

Unless there is something in your physiology that suggests Rezum won't work, I would consider this a no branier. Do Rezum - if it doesn't work you can always have the Button TURP done, but it probably will with a shorter recovery, no hospital stay and very very little risk.

• Posted