Can anyone help with counting fat?

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi, there,

Just a quick question: does anyone know an easy way to count the number of calories in your diet from fat? The leaflet in the box says that not more than 30% of your calories should come from fat, but does that mean I have to do algebra every time I try to work out what percentage of calories in my 4 oz chicken breast make up the 6gms of fat it contains? (If so, I might just wing it and take the consequences if I mess up ;-) )

If anyone has some good tips to share, I'd be really grateful...

Cheers

Heff

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi,

I'm new to taking orlistat, and like you, am confused as to how much fat approx each of my 3 meals should contain (maximum) in order to avoid any accidents - especially as I work full time up London and getting to the loo on time could pose a problem!

Advise would be welcome from you all who have been taking orlistat for a while. Today, I have kept everything I have eaten under 5% fat, but if I can go a bit higher than that without causing an accident, please let me know!

Thanks in advance,

Leeanne smile

• Posted

Hi Heff & Leeanne,

I'm new to all this too but hav found a little bit out:-

1. don't mix lbs/oz's and grams best stick to grams most packaging states weight in this nowadays.

2. There are 9 calories in 1 gram of fat

3. Here goes with the maths if u really want to work it out. You already know that each gram of fat is 9 calories, so you first multiply the grams of fat by 9, then divide by the total calories per serving to get the percentage of calories from fat.

Formula is grams of fat x 9cals per gram/total cals per serving=total%of cals from fat.

Example if food has 150 cals per serving & 6g fat

6x9=54/150=36%

This is high as we are aiming for 30%

How's that :?: Clear as mud :? :?:

Let me know :wink:

• Posted