Can't seem to help myself

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi all - I'm also new to this so bear with me...I've had depression on and off now for over 10 years. I have previously sought help and am on Sertraline (50mg). However, I've really been struggling to find a solution that works. The medication initially took the edge off but I know I need longer term CBT and support. The problem is that I've tried the NHS and the waiting list is too long and the private ones are extortionate - so I've avoided all help for a while as i just don't have the energy/motivation to find a solution long term. Its frustrating as I just feel I could do so much more with my life if I could just get out of this fog. I wondered if anyone has any good tips in terms of what really works and whether it really is worth spending money on private help. I'm trying to do all the other things right - I exercise a lot, I'm doing yoga and 'trying' to be as sociable as I can be but its all just too much like hard work and I'm scared that the rest of my life will continue like this.

1 like, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

How ill do you think you are at the moment and do you think it would be worth spending out on private treatment?  on a scale of 1 to 10

richard

• Posted

Thanks for your reply - Its up and down but I'd say 6. I can just about keep things together but I feel its a constant battle. I have already spent a fair bit on private treatment but the therapists have all said it needs a longer term approach so that's going to be a lot of money - which adds to my stress.
  • Posted

Hi....

have you looked on YouTube. They do guided meditations/relaxation for mind,body and soul or whatever you feel you need help with.

It's my new thing that I'm telling everybody about because they are working wonders for me right now and believe me when I say,I was in a bad way.