Cataract Lens choices

Posted , 10 users are following.

Hi, I'm about to undergo cataract surgery in about a month and pondering what lens to use.Would appreciate any suggestion for my situation.

I'm 61 and has been nearsighted since youth. My eye prescription is as follows: 

-6.0, -0.75, +2.5

-6.5,  DS,   +2.5

So I'm quite nearsighted on both eyes, slightly astigmatism on my right eye, and moderate presbyopia on both eyes. I've been wearing progress glassed for the last ~10 yrs. The cataract doctor was pretty sure that Sympony lens is most suitable for me. The main reason he mentioned is Symfony lens has the best chance of allowing me not needing glasses after surgery.

The thing is I don't really mind wearing glasses. My main goal after surgery is to be able to see well in all distances even if I have to wear glasses. The research I have on Symphony is it may give me good distance vision without glasses but monitor and reading may be borderline acceptable. Here are my questions:

1. Would it be a good idea that the Symphony lens is set to optimize intermediate and near visions? The distance visions then become borderline acceptable, meaning I can still function without glasses but if I want to sharpen up I wear glasses. So the end result is I will wear glasses to correct mild nearsightedness most of the time but remove glasses when reading monitor and books.

2. Can the above scenario be achieved with standard monofocal lens? Sympony lens is expensive.

Thanks in advance, Robert   

0 likes, 43 replies

43 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

Is the concentric circles experienced by the Sympony users caused by the lens having concentric circles on its surface? And whereas monofocal lens has smooth surface, thus no such problem? 
    • Posted

That is correct. One sees about 10 concentric circles due to the reflections by  the diffraction circles on the lens.
    • Posted