Chronic low stomach acid

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi,

I am a student and since last year I have chronic low stomach acid. It began with not eating healthy(I ate a lot of fried food and yoghurt) then I had strong pain several days and went to a doctor. He told me I might have gastritis and I took Pantroprazole, but he didn't ordered examination. After one month I felt   problems with digestion when i ate meat or fruits, so i didnt eat them. Then i had endoscopy, which showed gastritis with low stomach acid in winter 2014. After two month pause the doctor told me to take proton inhibitor again for one month, but I felt that it makes my digestion worse. Totally I have taken Pantroprazole and Nexium for 3 months and this summer after second endoscopy they told me I dont have gastritis, but I have digestion related complaints. I know that I have low stomach acid and I feel my food is slowly digested and I get headaches from it. Why my stomach aicd is not returning after stopping the medication? What else can cause this problem and what medical examinations should i do to find the cause?

0 likes, 25 replies

25 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Kal

Have you had a test for H.Pylori (Helicobacter Pylori). It is a tiny bacteria that burrows into the stomach wall and duodenum and causes excess stomach acid. Go back to your GP and ask for a test, which is carried out via stool test or breath test. It is quite common and can be treated with antibiotics. I dont understand why GP's do not test for this initially when patients complain of stomach acid......hope this helps....best wishes and hope you get to the bottom of the problem....

• Posted

Hi,

I tested with serum blood test for antibodies, but it showed very little antibodies to be considered infected with H. Pylori. Should I make a test for Candida and thyroid to see if one of them causes this? Sometimes when my digestion is really bad I feel dull pain in the area of my neck/throat(probably the thyroid).

• Posted