citalopram sickness spaced out clenching jaw? ? ?

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi i am a newbie to citalopram, i took my first tab 20mg on sunday after about 1hour i felt extremely sick and lost my appetite. Took the next one on monday again felt sick but by the evening it had worn off abit. Tuesday felt totally spaced out and sick, wedensday woke up getting ready for work had to sick down for 10mins as i felt faint and.really sick eventually got to work . I work in a call centre and its really strict. Took my first call, well i was slurring my words totally spaced out and sick. I was then sick and have felt terrible ever since. I even had to stay home today. Which didnt go down well with my boss ! Im finding im staring into space and clenching my jaw. Spoke to my g yesterday she told me to stop taking them until i feel better then try half a tablet but told her with the job i do there is noway i can feel like this. She wanted to sign me off with stress/depression but i said there's no way i can do that as i will loose my job! Looks like i will have to feel down for the rest of my life :-(just dont no.what to do. Im also being tested next week for underactive thyroid.. has anyone had similar side affevts? ? How long does it take for these horrible side affects to wear off ? ? Thank-you aany advice will be grately appreciated.

1 like, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi,

I started on 20mgs and went through similar for the first two weeks. I felt totally drugged up. To be honest I had some side effects for the first 7/8 weeks but nowhere near as bad as thise couple of weeks at the start.

You may be better starting more gradually on 10mgs, ask your doctor about this. It will just give your body a chance to get used to the Cit.

I've been on cit for 8 months now, have no side effects, just the positives.

So understand that the side effects will pass.

• Posted