citalopram & weight gain ( how long to lose it after coming off cit)

Posted , 55 users are following.

I have been on cit 50mg & trazodone 200mg for 2 years. I have put on 3 stone in this time.

I have started to reduce the cit & just wondered how long it takes to lose the weight gain once you are off the cit??

8 likes, 119 replies

119 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi there,

Your weight loss should be gradual, dont try to lose it too quickly.

Follow a healthy diet with plenty of excercise and make sure you expend more calories than you consume per day.

I would say try to lose a couple of pounds per week until you feel happy with your weight again.

Good luck

A

• Posted

Hi, I am a personal trainer, so I do know about weight loss & exercise, & nutrition ( its my job lol)

. What I dont know is if the weight gain due to medication just drops off. I have never eaten any more & have kept on exercising whilst on the cit.

• Posted

My appetite didn't increase either but I have gained about 20 something pounds. If I had an increase in appetite I could control that, but hard when you don't eat anymore but gain all that weight. Today I began an exercise and healthy eating program.
  • Posted

Hi, I've been on Cit for 3yrs for anxiety, my GP assures me that the weight gain is temporary & I will lose it when i come off them.

I'm planning to reduce my dose from 40 to 30mg over the next few weeks. Hoping I might have more energy then!

Gymbunny - just wondering if you know the maximum dose for Citalopram has been reduced to 40mg, it would be worth you discussing this with your GP.

• Posted

Oh Rosie that is so encouraging. I hope he is telling the truth and that I will lose it. I have begun walking and eating more healthily. I am cutting out all eating between meals and lattes etc.
  • Posted