COPD flare up

Posted , 4 users are following.

It's taken 12 months to get a COPD diagnosis and I'm new to the condition. I feel like I'm not getting enough oxygen today, I feel funny headed and have pain in my shoulders, I have a once daily spirits capsules and a blue salamol reliever, when do you know you need further medical assistance, and how many times a day can I use my reliever? I'm a 47 year old female and stopped smoking 2 years ago. Thanks

1 like, 20 replies

20 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Pain in your shoulders should be checked out  NOW as it could be pneumonia, a common complication of COPD.

Do you mean Spiriva and what exactly isthe blue reliever?  Cortisone?     The prescription or the packaging should tell you when and how often to use the product or ask your doctor or practice nurse, also ask them when you should contact them for help.

What's your lung function % and are you going to pulmonary rehab yet?

• Posted

I did mean spiriva, I had pneumonia in October and a chest X-ray confirmed it had gone so the pain could be lingering from that. I have been told by my GP to carry on with the inhalers and go back if I feel any worse so I haven't been referred for any kind of rehab. The blue reliever is salbutamol.
    • Posted

How recent was that x-ray?  Just because it was gone in October doesn't mean it can't be back again.   I googled salbutamol and it seems to be very similar to ventolin.   When you had the spiirometry test to diagnose COPD, did they repeat it with ventolin or salbutomol?  I ask that because ventolin has absolutely no effect on my breathing, although I know it does for other people, especially if they have asthma, which is what it's usually prescribed for.

I have Symbicort, a cortisone puffer I use twice in the morning and it's made a HUGE difference to my breathing and endless nigh-time coughing.