Dairy and LS

Posted , 12 users are following.

Cutting out dairy is not the answer for some people. Dairy foods rich in calcium and vitamin D such as yoghurt and nuts are  compulsory for people at risk or who have osteoporosis. Also oily fish and cereals. I am a fitness professional so I know what to eat and what not to eat. Vegestables such as broccolie sprouts and cauliflower also have the relevant nutrients for this group of people. Cutting out dairy is a total no no.

0 likes, 24 replies

24 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Thank you - I am very wary of dietary advice based on anectodal evidence alone -

I have just read that iodine is lacking in people who only have organic milk...because the non organic milks have iodine added- hence lack of goitres so prevelant in the years before 1930's. Maybe those with thyroid deficiencies may be better off with non organic dairy foods?

By the way what do you define as dairy foods? Milk based products alone or are eggs included as many seem to do so?

• Posted

Fish meat cream eggs and milk and also cheese. (I never eat cheese too high in saturated fat, or cream) Forgot to mention eggs these are good for osteoporotic people and contain vitamin A. The old saying everything in moderation is very true. Alcohol excessiively is bad for osteoporosis. And early menopause can be a contributory factor, and I think smoking also. I have heard that organic foods are not cracked up to be as good as they are supposed to be., so your comment on organic milk does not surprise me.
  • Posted