Depression for years, don't know what to do. Opinions please!

Posted , 4 users are following.

I've had depression for as long as I can remember, I went to the doctors last year to get help and I have been on Prozac for the past year now and am recieving CBT. I am 17 almost 18 and am studying A-levels at college. The thing is, I don't have any passion left for the subjects I am studying. The only thing I enjoy is photography and I am studying that at college, but it's not going to get me anywhere. It's like 60% of me wants to drop out of college and get a full time job because I feel much more accomplished when I'm at work, I like the feeling of being needed and belonging to part of a company and also being self suffiecient and earning my own money. I feel like I could be a lot happier if I took this route, I could afford to learn to drive and get a car and move out with my boyfriend and all that stuff. But the other 40% of me knows it's sensible to finish my second year at college and then do all this stuff, but what's the point if i'm not going to uni? I feel like if I stay at college another year it's going to be a massive stuggle for me mentally like this last year has been. I just need opinions. Thanks 

1 like, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi Sam , I am a mum whose going through exactly the same issue with my daughter who is doing a course at college but feels more worthy at co-op.Bottom line is if you stop now you will be seen as someone who can't commit to something longterm and if you get your a-levels next year if you want to pick up further education when older it just makes life a bit easier.Bite the bullet and stick it out !!!!

• Posted

Hi Sam,

The thing is about giving up college now and start working is that, you can't just stop working because you don't like it anymore,because you have responsibilities, to pay the bills etc-if you want to drive and get your own place.