Discomfort on my right eye after 3 months of cataract surgery

Posted , 5 users are following.

i felt something in my right eye on the inner corner of my eye. The optometrist told me it's block where the tears come out. She said it's been swollen but not infected. My eyes get red especially in the afternoon. It's been 3 months since the operation. My left eye heals quickly and i had the operation last Sept. 1,2017. Vision is clear no problem. Has anyone experience the same way. I am a resident of Australia.

1 like, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

Can the doctor via surgery clear the blocked tear duct?
    • Posted

i will going to see him on Oct. 9. But everytime i complain about he said it's pretty good. 

• Posted

I had that, but my doc just put a tiny, tiny tube in the tear duct and it cleared up immediately.
    • Posted

Good surgery corrected your issue. So all is well now? Just curious, was your surgery covered by insurance or did you pay out-of-pocket?
    • Posted

I don't have health insurance just medicare. I paid the whole amount of surgery.

• Posted

Just curious. How much is it for one eye?

I paid out-of-pocket too. I'm an American living in the Philippines. Medicare doesn't cover Americans living overseas.

• Posted

It cost me AU$1230 including anaesthesian, but for the surgeon is AU$1050
    • Posted

Wow that's cheap! That equates to $1,824 US dollars. I thought Australia would be more expensive than the Philippines because the cost of living is less here. Mine cost $2,158 US dollars for one eye including the anaesthesian ( & outpatient). My multifocal IOL cost $1,200 US dollars. What is your IOL? Mine is a German brand (made in the Netherlands) called "Oculentis Mplus X." Interesting that your total is cheaper than the Philippines.

• Posted

Mine is made in Australia by Alcon. I think mine is not multifocal. Am a private patient by i was operated in a government hospital on day surgery. How long you have your cataract surgery.