Do the drugs prevent or decrease the pain?

Posted , 8 users are following.

i would appreciate hearing opinions and experience...do TN drugs is gabapentin prevent pain or do they just numb the pain when it occurs?

is it necessary to take drugs on an ongoing basis or does anyone take drugs just when they have episodes of pain.

i look forward to hearing from many of you.

0 likes, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

Gabapentin prevents pain. It works. Y decreasing conducting in nerves thus preventing pain

You have to take it daily on going to build drug levels up

I'm a tn patient also on gabapentin

I'm also a pharmacist

• Posted

gabapentin numbs my pain but my is constantly hurting but i had too add oxcarbazepine but i cant stand the side effects
  • Posted

Dneutontin worked for about 3 months...no pain. Then it came back and went on carbazepine then ox carbazepine..not much helped. Then lyrica which helped with pain nicely but the side effects were awful.  So had a surgery which got rid of pain completely and got off the awful drugs.

still it returns in a few years...I feel completely screwed but hey, it isn't cancer or diabetes or congestive heart failure!

the Radiofrequency surgery got me off drugs and back into having a life!  A major yay!

• Posted

That was supposed to say Nerontin no D in front.
  • Posted

In my case I'm on Carbamazepine which acts as an anticonvulsant and a pain killer. The former effect tends to "slow down" or decrease the frequency of the trigeminal nerve firing, and other cranial nerves of course. Its best effects are when you've got a good level of the drug in the circulation. So there's no point in taking it just when you have pain. I can knock my dose up to quite high levels without too many nasty side effects but still get breakthroughs, but they are much less intensity. You can't just stop Carbamaz quickly otherwise there's a risk of having a seizure, so reduce dose slowly over several days