Don’t know if I need help or not really.

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi I don’t know weather I am depressed or not. I’m a uni student and have moved from my home town and left all my friends there. I have made some new friends at uni who I do really get along with. When I am around people I like to think that I am quite a funny, nice and easy to get along with person. Sometimes I think I try too hard to be likeable because I think I am massively insecure about myself. When I am with people I am fine, but when it comes to going to bed or doing any activity alone I feel so so lonely. I’ve had endless nights just crying, not being able to sleep because of the thought of how hollow I am. But then the next morning I will wake up meet with people and be fine until I am alone again. There has been a few times where I did self harm, but I think that was a cry for help when I am in these states it’s like I’m not myself. 

Any advice on this would be much appreciated thank you.

0 likes, 2 replies

2 Replies

• Posted

Hi Coys10,

I have been at this point where I felt so funny and having fun, which I genuinely was, when I'm with friends but then felt lonely when I am on my own. Those were just episodes and didn't really happen that often. I've learned to acknowledge these feelings but without harming myself. Now, I can be alone without really feeling lonely. I've learned to love spending time with myself.

If there is an advise I can give you, learn to be self-sufficient. It's not wrong to socialize but make sure you are okay when you are alone. In life, we can't always depend with other people to be always around.

I hope this won't come across as being rude or like i'm a know-it-all person. I know people deal with stuffs differently but then I can only share what I have experienced.

Wish you well!

Dee

• Posted