Don't know what to eat/should I eat ?

Posted , 5 users are following.

This discussion has been locked due to a period of inactivity. Start a new discussion

Day 4 of Coamoxiclav for flare up and wondering should I eat and what ? Had a few mouthfuls of food but not much as I feel full as well as hungry at the same time which is odd. Had DD since I was 48, I'm now 56 and on average have 1 or 2 flare ups a year. Was diagnosed after barium enema showed extensive diverticuli. I'm in Oxfordshire UK and so far have never been given much help or advice from GP's regarding this. I just go to them when it flares get given antibiotics and it goes away after about a week. I feel I should eat something as not had bowels open for 4 days and I feel very bloated and uncomfortable. Any ideas/help etc would be great.

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi sorry to hear you are suffering im new to this disease I was diagnosed in May so im afraid I cant help as im still learning new things myself but I do know it is very important not to get constipated as this can cause a blockage so if I were you I would go back to the gp for some meds to help you along.  I didn't go to the toilet for two days and stupidly bought some Senna which I was told by my gp was far too severe

.  Good luck x

• Posted

I am in West Yorkshire. I was told by my GP to eat little but often. When I had a really bad flare last year I started with soup and brown bread then built up to solids like a little bit of meat and veg it sometimes is best to just have fluids at first like water juice soup   I am seeing a dietitian in 2 weeks to try and sort out what's best to eat. It's costing a lot of money but I hope it will help me. I don't think GPS know much about DD. They treat it differently in the USA to how they treat it here. I will let you know what the dietitian says if you would like me to 

• Posted