doubting citalopram

Posted , 5 users are following.

hello,

i have been on citalopram for three weeks now and am beginning to doubt if it's doing me any good. i seem to feel really low more of the time, my anxiety is ridiculous, i'm still having real trouble sleeping and i have absolutely no ability to concentrate, which is becoming a real problem as i'm in my third year of university and i just cannot get anything done. should i persist with the tablets for another week or go to the doctor to ask for something different?

thanks for the advice,

hope everyone is feeling a bit brighter x

0 likes, 6 replies

Report / Delete

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi

It took 4 weeks for me to get my concentration back.

My doc asked me to back after 4 weeks on tablets, if yours has said come back in 4 weeks then if you can it maybe worth hanging on that extra week.

Lizzy

Report / Delete Reply
  • Posted

[quote:521f086efe=\"elphie\"]i'm in my third year of university and i just cannot get anything done.[/quote:521f086efe]apart from anything else: if you haven't already done so, do go and see your personal tutor, make sure they know about your problems and find out what support the university can offer. Or if you don't want to talk to academic staff about it, try your student union.
    Report / Delete Reply
  • Posted

Hi, I am like you. I have been on citalopram for 2 weeks now and as well as not being able to sleep and no concentration and feeling really down, I have never felt so awful in my life. I have been having panic attacks, sweating much more than normal, even when doing nothing, I have had nausea for the whole time and an upset stomach and feel like I have the flu. I am dizzy every time I move my head. I am going back to my doctor next week to see what he says. I feel that I am existing at the moment, not living. I hope it gets better soon.
    Report / Delete Reply
  • Posted