Dysphagia, LPR, GERD and anxiety help!

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hello,

I am writing here because I am currently suffering immense bouts of anxiety due to LPR and GERD prior to my upper endoscopy.

I have just turned 31 but I suffered symptoms for many years. I quit smoking 9 months ago after nearly 5 years of not-so-heavy smoking (average 4 cigarettes a day).

I am nearly 6.2 feet tall (187.5 cm) tall and my weight has varied between 71 kg (11.2 stone/156 pounds and 76 kg (and 12 stone/167.5 pounds). I walk a lot and exercise regularly.

My story started several years ago when I experienced thick phlegm in mornings however the symptoms came and went. I blamed it on hay fever or cold weather in Denmark where I studied.

During this time I experienced occasional light-headedness and weakness in my limbs.

In February 2012 I experienced strong primary herpetic infection with tenths of aphthous ulcers that left several lymph nodes on my neck swollen and since then I had persistent lymphadenopathy. Doctors had reassured me that there was nothing to worry about.

I started to notice more worrisome symptoms after food alleged food poisoning (cramps, diarrhoea) that I developed in Romania, June 2015 and later was treated in Prague(Czech Republic) without upper endoscopy.

My first bout with GERD was in August 2015 after my friend’s wedding when after binge drinking I attempted to vomit but could not and felt terrible pressure in my chest accompanied by fullness.

I went to gastroenterologist and he diagnosed me with GERD and set me on a month-long omeprazole treatment.

My symptoms were light-headedness and pressure in chest with inability to breathe. In that point I have suffered only rare and weak reflux.

In the past three years I had one unsuccessful endoscopy that inspected oesophagus and it came alright (October 2015) but they could not finish the endoscopy because of neck spasms.