Early days but happy with TURP results so far....

Posted , 7 users are following.

If I,m perfectly honest I reckon I had been ignoring my BPH symptoms for the past 8 or 10 years. Frequent urination was happening gradually more often over this period and visits to the toilet at night were often in the 4 or 5 bracket. I didnt let this bother me too much as I usually went back to sleep within a couple of minutes. I drive a truck by day and sometimes I would be in agony trying to hold on till I found somewhere to pull in and go. Still, I did nothing about it until about 3 months ago when I went out with my wife and I consumed 5 pints of lager. Got home and went to the loo before getting into bed and immediately felt I needed to go again. Not a drop was forthcoming and I spent the net few hours in some discomfort. My wife drove me to A and E around 5 30 and I was fitted with a cath after a while. Such a relief! Went to the doc and he referred me to a urologist who put me on Urorec tablets. Back to him for a cystoscopy where he mentioned my prostate was "a whopper" and he recommended a TURP.  

I am lucky enough to have private insurance with my job and the op was scheduled for October 11th. I wont pretend it was easy and I spent a very uncomfortable 6 days in hospital, the spasms were the worst bit by far. This was all much alleviated when they removed the cath the day before I was discharged. I peed a bit of blood for the next few days and a bit of discomfort near the end of the pee but this has gradually gotten less and the flow is really good. 

I,m 62  and now 3 weeks and a few days since the op and feel as good as ever. Due back to the surgeon in 3 weeks for flow test and bladder scan. I know its still recent and things can change but I,m glad I went for this operation.Like most men I was dreading this before but to (hopefully) have it behind me is a great relief. 

0 likes, 21 replies

21 Replies

• Posted