Every waking hour, for 15 years, I have been convinced I will have a heart attack.

Posted , 5 users are following.

I'm 33, but ever since I was 17 I am convinced on an hourly basis that I will die for a heart attack. In all those years I have never had a day where I have felt normal.

It sucks, and it has ruined my life. I've also had ectopic heartbeats since I was 17 too. 

I feel beyond help. Anxiety isn't new to me, I'm a veteran at this. Doctors write me off a long time ago. I don't get down about it, it's just how my brain works. I also have Aspergers which I'm told affects anxiety.

The fear of a heart attack cripples me. I wont leave the house some days because of it. So I've developed a sedatary lifestyle ... which will cause a heart attack. And now it's a vicious circle because I know one day it will happen.

I'm 33, I feel like this is the age when people start to see problems with their health as a result of early life choices. My parents didn't raise me on fruit and vegetables. I wasn't taught how important they are until mid 20's. So that goes against me.

I don't know what to do anymore. I do exercise, and have done most of my life on and off, but there have been periods where depression have left me bed ridden for weeks. Thankfully I'm passed that.

So yeah, I can truly say I'm one of those very few people where anxiety has destroyed my life and my health ... and I let it.

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

I jump rope and lift weights 3 to 4 times a week. I'll also climb 1000 steps some days. Or go for long walks when my anxiety doesn't stop me. But some days it's hard to do any of this because of anxiety.

• Posted

Also forgot to mention I constantly replay death scenarios in my head. Like I imagine myself as my girlfriend who has lost me because I died for a heart attack and I play out in my head what she would do, and how she would feel.