excruciating pain after sitting or laying down

Posted , 2 users are following.

I am a 52 yr old nurse with severe lumbar disc degeneration in whole of lumbar spine, also arthritis in both hips. Apparently this is mostly age related but no doubt result of 34ys nursing service.

I have tried physio, acupuncture, hydrotherapy, tens, osteopathy and facet joint injections with no relief.

My pain consultant is fab and talked me into a new career move which is still full time and hard but essential to keeping solvent but when i get home and sit down even for just 5-10 mins I cannot get up again without the most excruciating pain in my back, over the right upper outer quadrant of my hip/buttock.

It is also the same in bed after any period of laying down, any miniscule movement triggers the pain and i get the sciatica in the right leg down to three little toes.

My meds are paracetamol, brufen and occasional voltarol gel (weaned off tramadol because of problems). I have just started amitryptilline but worry bout side fx.

Due to have a caudal epdural on sept 4th but fearful this acute pain issue is some massive deterioration that may be permanent.

Please tell me if you guys know if this will get any better?

Very frightened here :-\

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Dear Angela    so sorry to hear about your pain although i suffer from  sciatica only in toes and feet  i understand how you feel do no be frightened there is always help from someone just stay positive and you will get through,  pain is so hard to explain but like me i have been in agony at times sending you all my Best Wishes for your speedy recovery take care x

• Posted

Thanks sandra, its just that i always have some degree of pain and can plod on regardless but this is new these past two weeks so fear that it may be permanent or do i need to get new help?
    • Posted

yes angela   get it checked out for your own sake  it will be worth it for peace of mind   

• Posted