Skip to content
Ad
in this discussion +1 following
derrick33403 derrick33403

Experienced 6 years of Chronic Constipation now Cured.

Hi all, 

I want to start but saying I am not a doctor and can only speak from my experience with constipation. I am now 29 and haven’t experienced constipation for years. I hope my story helps someone else. 

Starting when I was 16, I started having troubles using the restroom. I would be in unbearable pain while trying to have a bowel movement, sometime experiencing blood. When I would finally experience a bowel movement, it would knock me out! Like going to sleep for hours after, trying to sleep off the pain.

I have been to countless emergency room doctors, primary care physicians and even Doctors who specialize in gastrointestinal issues. Each one of these told me I experiencing constipation.  Doctors conducted X-Rays, Colonoscopy and Endoscopys to check for intestinal obstructions. After each visit, I was told to take more and more laxatives. At this point I was experiencing bowel movement every 6 weeks.

At its worst I was taking the following daily:

·      8oz Milk of Magnesia

·      Ducolax

·      Sodium Citrate

·      Miralax

·      And some topical rub, I don’t remember

Anyway, this went on for years. When I was 21, I finally decided to go see another Gastroenterologist.  After an exam or two he determined I had an Anal Fissure.

An anal fissure is a tear in the lining of the lower rectum (anal canal) that causes pain during bowel movements.

(https://patient.info/health/anal-fissure-leaflet).

The doctor told me that because of the physical pain I experienced for so many years while trying to use the bathroom, my subconscious was actually preventing the stool from passing.  I had a quick surgery, which cut a muscle around the tear which allowed it to heal.