feeling worse with increased dosage

Posted , 3 users are following.

hello out there

just wondered if anyone has experienced similar. I had been on 10mg citalopram since January and the dose was increased to 20mg just over a month ago. Since then I have been feeling worse mentally. I find I can cope with everyday things better but not work. I was seeming to cope with work better on the 10mg and today, coming back after the long weekend I am worse than ever. Can't speak to anyone, just want to shut everything out or tell everyone where to go. I know I need to find a new job but trapped by money.

I saw the doctor on friday night who just said I will have up and down days which I already know but today is severe and I don't now what to do.

Is anyone else havinga bad time at work even though they are on the tablets?

kind regards

Marie

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Hi Marie,

Im fairly new to this medication and last week my dose was upped from 20mg to 40mg.

I experienced a similar thing- as i felt more calm and enjoyed every day activities more, i found work progressively worse. I think for me this was because i didnt enjoy my job anyway and felt the distinction between activities i enjoyed and work more. Also work is one of the causes of my depression, so each day was like a minor setback.

Today i finally took the leap of faith and handed in my notice. im going to retrain in something i enjoy, and already feel calmer. You already know you need a new job, all i can say is start thinking about what you really want to do and see what happens. Finances are a burden, but you may find if you look into it that something comes up you hadnt considered.

I hope this helps!

All the best

Kate

• Posted

thank you so much for that Kate