Fibroids

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi everyone , I have just turned 49 and I've been spitting and spotting for what feels like a few months now sometimes what seems like a very light period then nothing for a day or two , then just a bit after a wee when I wipe myself. So today I got to see a gynecologist  he examined me and thinks I have a large fibroid at the neck of my womb. Anyone else had the same ? I have to keep a diary and then in 3 months go for a scan . He says fibroids are not serious , I am just wandering as I think I'm defiantly going through menopause if it will just shrink and go on its own. And also as he's leaving me so long it's nothing that serious. Let me know if anyone else is at the same place. 

0 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

Hi,

my sister had a large fibroid in her womb in her mid forties, and had to have a hysterectomy. Usually with fibroids, the fibroid at least should be removed. Depending on where it is exactly, sometimes a hysterectomy is needed. I am suprised your'e gyneacologist didnt say this - but maybe they are doing more tests, and of course I'm not a medical expert. I cant imagine a fibroid would shrink away - I've never heard of this. Just going off what I know has happened with family/friends.

I think you need to contact youre doctor to find out what specifically is going on with you asap.

• Posted

I had the spotting like you said, first in december and then again last month. It starts of spotting and like you said when after a wee and wipe too. I have had smear and uterus checked so presumed was hormones, now after ovary removal had this but i think to do with the after effect of op, i had transvaginal ultrasound prior to ovary removal and fibroid werent spotted or mentioned, i would have thouvht that wohld have spotted them, so I presumed bec of ny age 51 it was the hormones, x
    • Posted