First time on a forum..recently diagnosed with GAD

Posted , 2 users are following.

This is my first time ever doing an online forum so new to all this. I'm 28 years old in good shape. I've had anxiety my whole life.. And always tried to control it without professional help. About a year ago I slipped a disk in my neck and have other back pain so I was on Vicodin for about a year just low dose.. 1-2 a day. And then I went off and started reading online about withdrawal and it send my anxiety through the roof long story short I ended up reading all this stuff online and internalizing the symptoms. I ended up having some sort of nervous break down and went to my fam doc and had a long desscioson she referred me to pchycirsit and she told me I have GAD and my fam doc put me on Celexa and Xanax. I've been on the Celexa for about 3 and a half months not sure of it works? I know the Xanax do I only take .05 a day and sometimes half that.. My anxiety seems under control but I don't know if it's the Xanax or the Celexa? I feel as if I didn't have the Xanax if be anxious like I use to bc I still get back anxiety but as soon as I take the Xanax I'm fine for the day.. Anyone else on these meds?

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi,

I'm not on either. Hav you discussed with doc about which it's more likely to be. Does he or she recommemd you regularly take the xanax or is bit up to u how much you take daily?

• Posted

The Celexa is once a day.. And Xanax as needed I usually take the .05 a day and I know the Xanax helps.. She thinks I need to be on the Xanax and Celexa but not to get carried away with the Xanax bc of their addictive nature.. but I've been to see her about 3 or 4 times and she said I'm doing right with my Xanax I never come to get early fills and don't abuse them so I guess I'll just stick with the Xanax and Celexa since it works until she thinks I'm ready to go off.. Don't wanna be on meds forever! Do you have anxiety disorder? Thx for the reply smile