Frustrated

Posted , 4 users are following.

I am pretty new to this IBS. Ben to the Dr and she put me on probiotics and asked to schedule an appt for a colonoscopy. I started suffering with upset stomach, gas and bloating besides diarrhea. It had gotten better for about 4 days and then this morning it started all over. Is this how a flare up acts.

0 likes, 10 replies

Report / Delete

10 Replies

• Posted

Sorry Yvonne that you're having what appears to be digestive problems.  I've been an on and off IBS sufferer for over 40 years.  The flares come and go for reasons completely unknown to me or my physicians (I can't tell you how many I've seen over the years).  By now I've come to believe that IBS is a catch-phrase for a myriad of conditions and possible illnesses.  You can expect the symptoms you mentioned but then they could be from something you ate or continue to eat.  I have to be careful of  products containing wheat but it seems that each person's symptoms vary so widely that not just one food or even ten can be pinpointed as a trigger.  I find that my worse flares are from too much stress.  No matter what I cut out of my diet or if I don't eat at all, I can have all your symptoms.  Over my adult life, I have changed my diet at least 10 times and yet the flare ups continue in times of an overload of stress. 

I hope the probiotics help (remember to refrigerate them).  You might ask your doc about digestive enzymes.  Hope you feel better soon -- the probiotics might help.

Report / Delete Reply
    • Posted

Thank you fod replying. You brought up something I am not looking at. That being stress. About 14 weeks ago I had a botched catetact surgery and and am continuing to have problems. I actually have been worried because I am going Monday to get stitches out of my eye. Ok wow I'm gonna calm down

Report / Delete Reply
  • Posted