gallbladder removal and nausea

Posted , 4 users are following.

Some history I had three gallstones attacks in 4 weeks, one lasted for 8 hours, one for 4 days and one for an hour. I also had nausea vomiting and bloatiness and gas. I couldn't eat anything as I always felt full. I had my gallbladder removed 8 days ago and the pain afterwards was really bad but that is improving. I still have nausea and gas and a little bit of diarrhea. I have already had one week off work and tried to go back but was really really exhausted. I also have sore eyes and nausea all the time which is the hardest thing to deal with as well as the exhaustion.

Everyone I spoke to seemed to get better within a week and I am really stressing out and wondering if I will ever get better. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

1 like, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Have you gone back to the doctor, either the surgeon on the one who recommended the surgery?  I'm not a doctor but it is not normal to have this continuing nausea.  You can get a second opinion if these, your usual ones don't help you with this problem.  I'd sure do it if you aren't improved very soon.  Hope for better days.
    • Posted

Thanks Sally.

Im going back to dr tomorrow. Just wondered if this was normal or not.

• Posted

It does take a while to get over this operation.

I had my gallbladder removed at end of April.

I am better than I was but am still having to be careful what to eat.

The diarrhoea should settle down.

People are very different and sometimes it does take longer to recover.

I certainly would not worry about it, just be patient.

Hope you continue to improve.

Take care and keep in touch

Love Sarah

• Posted

Thanks heaps Sarah

Did you have the nausea as well? Anything you recommend that would help?

• Posted

No I did not have the nausea.

Basically keep to a low fat diet.

Some people have trouble with curry and spicy food but I have always been OK with that.