Gallbladder surgery next week... TERRIFIED!!!

Posted , 15 users are following.

Hi, I'm new to this forum and this is my first post.... 

I'm from Canada and 2 weeks ago I was having evere pain in my side that after an ultrasound was diagnosed as gallstones... I was then referred to a general surgeon who said the best thing is to have it taken out so they scheduled me for surgery this coming Wednesday the 4th. I'm absolutely terrifed... I've never had surgery in my life, never been put under for anything  and as crazy as it sounds , it's not the surgery itself that scares me so much as the being put to sleep. I'm afraid of not waking up. Can I have some insight into other experiences and what will happen? I'm 28 years old and otherwise healthy as a horse (Doctors words) but I still can't shake this fear I have about it . I had my PATT the other day and the nurse tried to ease my mind as did some others but.... she's a nurse.... it's kinda her job... 

2 likes, 21 replies

21 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi abby if you read through the posts on here you will find so many of us (and some a lot older than you myself included) were exactly the same worrying about the what ifs. I think its ok to be frightened accept it and tell every nurse and doctor that has to deal with you. I cried all night the night before and to be honest that and the getting into hospital was worse than the op! Good luck you will feel better when its all done and when you're worrying just remember we were all the same , you're normal ! :-)
  • Posted