Gallbladder surgery next week... TERRIFIED!!!

Posted , 15 users are following.

Hi, I'm new to this forum and this is my first post.... 

I'm from Canada and 2 weeks ago I was having evere pain in my side that after an ultrasound was diagnosed as gallstones... I was then referred to a general surgeon who said the best thing is to have it taken out so they scheduled me for surgery this coming Wednesday the 4th. I'm absolutely terrifed... I've never had surgery in my life, never been put under for anything  and as crazy as it sounds , it's not the surgery itself that scares me so much as the being put to sleep. I'm afraid of not waking up. Can I have some insight into other experiences and what will happen? I'm 28 years old and otherwise healthy as a horse (Doctors words) but I still can't shake this fear I have about it . I had my PATT the other day and the nurse tried to ease my mind as did some others but.... she's a nurse.... it's kinda her job... 

2 likes, 21 replies

21 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

I've been looking for help and really am hoping for a reply. I had my gallbladder out 3 days ago and pain wise everything seems as normal as pain can be but what's awful is the nausea and now I've vomited twice. Is this normal? These were my main issues prior to surgery and I thought they'd improve after removal. I've been eating boiled rice and toast and had some jello. Any help would be appreciated!!
  • Posted

I know this is an old post but I go tomorrow and am petrified. Are you glad you had the surgery?
  • Posted