Gallstone pain

Posted , 7 users are following.

This discussion has been locked due to a period of inactivity. Start a new discussion

Hey all, I have recently been diagnosed with gallstones after 2 years of Misdiagnoses of acid reflux. I was in hospital for 4days with an inflamed gallbladder and was antibiotic. It has since flared up and only this week I was vomiting and back in hospital only this time they sent me home with antibiotics. I work as a teacher and am really struggling with the pain. Woke up today and have pain but I have even eaten anything. What can I take?

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Hi JOjo

Not much you can take over the counter that will work effectively enough, best to talk to your GP & get a right combination for you .

Hope you get better soon

• Posted

JoJo,

​Have you considered getting a second opinion?  If your gallbladder is inflamed, there is something wrong.  Did you doctor recommend surgery?  Acid reflux is caused by inbalance of acid in the stomach.  Do not lay down right after eating, as the stomach acid can come up the esophagus​ and burn.  You can try a tsp of baking soda in a glass of water to relieve the acid reflux. 

• Posted

It is not acid reflux but thank you. It's agonising gallstones. My gp just gave me codine and paracetamol. Sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't even touch the sides. How long is the surgery wait for gallstones? I've been waiting 2months already?

• Posted

Hi Jojo

We went privately in the end, but they did prescribe Oramorph or Tramadol as nothing else worked but it's one or other of the above not both & only for the most severe pain to stop you ending up in A&E

Hope you do not have to wait too long.

• Posted

Jojo,

?My surgeon was going to wait five weeks until everything  calmed down, but since I had sepsis, and my gallbladder was gangrenous and neucrotic, he couldn't wait. It was a matter of life or death.  Of course, my situation was different from yours.