Has my graves disease come back

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi I've now been off carbizamole nearly a year as levels were all in range last seen encroligist in August where he was happy even though I said I was suffering from awfull anxiety since then I'm now back on antidepressants and still struggling last bloods in December were in range though antibodies had risen a bit I really feel that it's raised its ugly head seeing him in April I've relapsed 3 times in 7years any advice would be appreciated

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi Brenda80266, anxiety and nervousness are subjective by definition. In my case I found the resting heart rate to be a more reliable indicator of my thyroid levels. If you keep a record then you will find that as you get more hyperthyroid your heart rate goes up. 

This is my first time relapsing. I was off Carbimazole for more than a year. I would like to ask a question. Of the seven times, how many times would you say your Graves' relapses occurred during the Winter season or during early Spring?

• Posted

Hi  it’s only been 3 times in 7 years to be honest I’m not sure I would think it’s more spring time I think how do you measure heart rate do you just check pulse hope you are doing ok it’s a battle 
    • Posted

I was first diagnosed in March and relapsed in January. I read that a lack of sunshine and Vit D can play a role during the onset of Graves'. (Effect of Vitamin D3 on Untreated Graves’ Disease with Vitamin D Deficiency, 2014)

Regarding the heart rate its best to sit or lie and relax for a while and then count your pulse beats during one minute. If you record the bpm every day for a few weeks and plot the graph then you will see some small fluctuations and an overall trend.

• Posted

I meant to say: I was diagnosed in March 2015 and relapsed in Jan 2018.
  • Posted