health anxiety advice

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hello smile I'm a newbie at this. I had posted on a site before and was basically treated like a crazy person which is sad. I have pretty bad health anxiety. I think I have cancer all of the time. Life was normal with no worries before. Then on 12-11-13 a close young friend died of colon cancer. That's when my switch went off. It gets better then comes back. I've been to a normal GP who took blood work told me I'm fine and basically said he couldn't help me. I have an appt on Jan 6 with a psychiatrist.  I'd like to go back on Klonopin.  Before my GP told me I was crazy pretty much he gave me a month of Klonopin and it helped. I didn't have to take it everyday even. Only when I felt that intense fear come upon me and my heart start racing. Then my GP told me he can get in trouble if he continues me on the medication.  Is this true?, I just need something to calm down when my mind goes. Maybe there's a breathing exercise instead of medication? I'm open to anything.  Panic attacks make the health anxiety worse bc during a panic attack I start panicking more bc I can't breathe. If I take a Klonopin it helps bring me back to normal. Any advice is appreciated. 

0 likes, 12 replies

Report / Delete

12 Replies

• Posted

I take ativan as needed and my doc has been giving it to me since sept. Its addictive but used correctly it don't hurt you.. Klonopin is similar to ativan.. The way I look at it is if it helps then why not prescribe it....
    Report / Delete Reply
    • Posted

I agree with you completely. If it helps why not prescribe it?  I know it can be addicting bc of the relaxing feelings but having anxiety attacks are so horrible.  And it's my only hope to even feel remotely normal again. I think my doctor just thought I was an addict or something instead of someone with a real problem, I'm hoping an actual psychiatrist will see me differently. Thanks for your reply!
      Report / Delete Reply
  • Posted