Hello got a new problem .

Posted , 3 users are following.

hi , had my coil out and smear test done on Tuesday evening , the coil has been in for about 13 years it was helping with my periods originally but because of my age been in my fifties they said I should have no more periods now , but since Tuesday I have had some red blood here and there , stopped on Wednesday but today has started again ,,,, bit worrying because haven't had any periods for 13 Yeats , is this normal or something else ?? Has anyone had anything like this please ... Would really appreciate it some feed back , have been reading about people having bleeds and needing to see doctors with thickening of the womb and all that , so has got me in a bit of a state .

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hello Anne,

I'm no doctor nor have I ever had a coil put in but I have had two kids and been on birth control in the past. My guess is just like in pregnancy or in some cases with birth control, when your periods are suppressed like that and then the device is removed you will have a bleed. You are probably still menstruating. But to be sure check with your doctor. I know that it's normal to bleed after having a baby and if you stop birth control abruptly that will cause a bleed. Hope this helps.

• Posted

Thanks  sharcerv , for your reply I just panic reading thinks on here about thickening womb and cancer it's quiet worrying when you try and find what going on . 

• Posted

Oh believe me, I understand about feeling overly concerned about every symptom. I could write a book! Lol! But honestly I don't think there's anything to worry about in your case. But to be sure ask your doctor if having a bleed is common when removing the coil. They should have told you the side effects.

• Posted

Im the same every feeling symptom is the worst possible bloody cause but when I read others problems I know there is nothing to worry about

Cos I can think rationally lol xxx

• Posted

I'm