HELP

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hello, im a type 1 diabetic and ive been losing weight for no reason, get super hot and super cold regularly. I now think i may have a goiter. My mother has hyperthyroidism. Any thoughts? Im a lil scared...

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hello JM8988:

My name is shelly and I am a nurse in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's thyroid disease since 1987.

Diabetes can bother the thyroid gland. It is wise to ask the doctor to test your blood.

You need a T4 -thyroxine level, T3 level -Liothyronine, a TSH (sensor hormone) and Blood glucose level, and a blood cortisol level. 

Your adrenal glands and thyroid work together and since you have Type 1 Diabetes they need to check that on you.  A Goiter is a swelling around the neck and it can feel tight.  The doctor will exam and press on your neck.  Sometimes you may have an Ultrasound to make sure there are no nodules.

Symptoms of HYPO or (under active)  are, weight gain, feeling cold, sleepy, low energy, low temp, low pulse, no periods or infrequent ones, constipation, headaches, depressed feelings.

Hyper (TOO MUCH) hormone, anxiety, jittery, insomnia, losing weight, feels HOT, sweating a lot, panic attacks, heart rate goes high, palpitations, thyroid eye problems.

Some people can swing between Hyper and Hypo. 

So please contact your  GP or doctor that you see and ask for the above blood work.

Any questions, just ask,

Shelly

• Posted

Are there are any contraindications for people who have or may have had a thyroid eye?

How is diabetes diagnosed?

Do you know how doctors go about diagnosing diabetes?

Is it difficult to diagnose?

Can diabetes cause panic attacks?

• Posted

I was diagnosed when i was 6. They just pricked my finger and test my blood glucose number. Usually 80-120 is a normal range. Mine was at 600. And i dont remember having any panic attacks... it is not hard to diagnose though
    • Posted

Hello Cindy: