Help...I need advice

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi so my name is Megan, I am 14 and new to this forum. I have been suffering from panic attacks for around 8 months now and last night was my worst so far. Last night I went to a concert with a friend, there were thousands of people at this concert and it was all indoors in a small ish arena. There were no seats so everyone was standing. The act had three support acts so we were standing for 3 hours before they actually came on. I'm not very good with big crowds, lots of people and small spaces but because I would be singing along and jumping I thought I would be too distracted to have a panic attack. But as soon as the main act came on everyone started screaming really loud, there was pitch black and then all of a sudden there was loads of really bright flashing lights. This started my panic attack and it didn't get better, people kept screaming and each time that finished a song it would go pitch black before loads of lights would flash again, making me feel really lightheaded. My legs where shaking like mad, I could feel my heart rate throughout my body and I literally felt like I was going to collapse. I had a empty bottle in my hand which I squeezed as hard as I could to distract myself but each second I just felt worse and worse. Eventually after 30 minutes of them being on I decides to push my way back though the thousands of people to the back of the arena. I went into the toilets and sat in the cubicle for around 20 minutes trying to calm myself down, stopyself from shaking and slow down my heart rate. I waited outside for the rest of the concert. Now today I was in school and some boys decided to flash the lights on and off which brought back all of these feelings and each time I think about it I have a panic attack. What do I do ? Is there any way I can stop this from happening and even stop my panic attacks altogether ?

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted