Help please :(

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi everyone, I am new to this sort of thing, I have never signed up to a specific support chat group and I'm hoping for a bit of re assurance as I'm pulling my hair out here!! I have had anxiety for a long time now, my doctor has recently offered me cbt which I am certainly great full for! But I just can't see how it is going to work on me, I am anxious all through the day, my body sweats I tremble and shake inside my body I get breathless and my chest feels so tight! I have two little boys and this is not only affecting me its affecting them too as I cannot physically do anything when I get like this it's like I want to run away from the feelings I am getting! I'm in university and have to get up and present Infront of people and I the feeings I get are so out of control I have walked off before and got so upset with myself! The day time is not the worse though as I find night time the hardest, I can't sit on the sofa with my boyfriend and watch TV as I just can not relax because instead of focusing on TV I focus on my breathing and I can't break the habit even when I go to bed! I wake up gasping for air is like anxiety does not give me a break at all and it's generally getting me down and destroying my life I'm only 24, i just want to feel normally!! I've been prescribed tablets from my doctor various time just too scared to take them as I always think that they will kill me sad((

2 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

Use the tablets. The fear of the tablet is a part of the anxiety disorder. Illogical fear of fear. Just take it because your anxiety is off the wall. You can wean off them after you are calm again and feel you have it all under control from the therapy. Putting it off and panicking all day wont help you get better. The torture and terror as a trade off from fearing the tablet isnt worth it, 
    • Posted

Maybe also look into yoga at your school. 
    • Posted