Help with acceptance

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi everyone newbie here.

ive had health anxiety about my heart for over two years now. It all started when I thought I had a heart attack after smoking a legal high (never done drugs before or after). I had pain down my left arm, a crushing pain In my chest, cold sweats, nearly fainted and my finger tips went blue. My wife called an ambulance who did an ECG in the house and said everything looked fine but took me in anyway because of my finger tips having gone blue.

in the hospital they did lots of other tests, ECGs blood tests and a chest X-ray. Everything was fine and I was discharged in the morning with no explanation. I continued having mild chest pains for 4 weeks and finally had enough so yet back to hospital. Again everything was fine so I was discharged again. I went to my GP who mentioned anxiety as a possible cause and she put me on propranolol. This didn't help and gave me heartburn which I then mistook the chest pains as another heart attack. After several months of suffering I eventually gave in and went onto anti depressants which I really didn't want to do as I was in denial that I had anxiety. My GP finally referred me to a cardiologist who did a further ECG and an echocardiogram. This all came back fine and the cardiologist said my heart was perfect and it was likely muscoskeletal pain.

i continued having daily chest pains and have tried everything from CBT to counselling to hypnotherapy, massages, chiropractor etc

I eventually started to feel better, still getting pains but not as anxious and I came off the tablets (fluoxetine) in February 2013.