Herx or doxycycline reaction

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi,

I’m kind of new to all if this. I was diagnosed with lupus and secondary fibromyalgia. I’m on plaquenil ever since but have not seen much improvement. There are good days and bad days but it’s hard for me to live a normal life.

I had to quit my job about a year ago when my symptoms started suddenly.

Right after getting lupus diagnosis, I got tested for lyme by MDLabatories? and it came back positive. Igm positive but Igg negative. This test was done by my Naturopath and none of my medical doctors thought that I had lyme disease (said it was a false positive). 

I’ve never seen a tick in my life if I had a exposure it should be at least 10 years ago. I’m 30 yo and lived in a city my entire life except for camping trip near rockies around 15 yo. 

I continued with my lupus and fibro treatment for about 8 months - I improved a little - being painfully bed ridden to having some good days with few hours of activity. 

So I met with my naturopath again to try antibiotics - doxycyclin 100mg two times a day plus plaquenil which I was already taking. Few hours after first dose my nerve pain intensified so much. 

My feet were burning, buzzing and tingling. It subsided within few hours but did not disappear completely. 

I thouht it was herx reaction at first but this happens every time I take a pill. On the second day, my old symptoms that were long gone came back. Mostly nerve pains, tingling, pins& needles and itching

I’m scared to take the next pill. I’ve read a lot about herx reaction and it seems like they are usually delayed reaction (48 hrs after new treatment). Mine is couple hours after taking doxycycline and happens everytime.. 

If it’s a herx reaction I should suck it up and endure the pain (it’s the worst pain..) but I’m worried that it might some type of immune reaction. 

Please let me know your thoughts.

Thank you in advance. 

0 likes, 2 replies

2 Replies

• Posted