hi. newly diagnosed and scared.

Posted , 7 users are following.

I've been displaying symptoms for 3 months now, but only today got the diagnosis. I feel scared and alone and isolated. I'm tired of feeling sick all the time and having no life and just laying in bed and crying due to the sickness and pain. None of my friends understand and it's taking a toll on my mental health. How do I accept what's happening to me?

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Take it one day at a time, educate yourself on how this disease will effect you. Whatever medicines they give you see what the side effects are. That's what I had to do. I have chronic pain and believe me I couldn't move for a couple of days. The key is to educate yourself. I hope that helps you.

• Posted

After doing some research, I asked my doc to test my Total and Free Carnitines, vitamin D and Magnesium.  These amino acids, vitamins and minerals are normally found in the body but tend to get deficient in hyperthyroid patients and doctors either do not know about this or don't care because that is the way they are trained.  So I let my doc deal with the medication dosage and I dealt with the supplements and it worked out very well for me.  Doctors tend to push RAI especially and sometimes surgery but I was determined I would keep my thyroid and I have.  Am now in remission.

• Posted

I was the same way just 5 weeks ago. Hang in there as bad as it is it DOES get better!
  • Posted

Hi!

I was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism in 2014. My symptoms were very very bad.

Physically: All my body was in pain, I couldn't move. Fast heart hate(140 per minute when resting 180 when walking or moving), shaking hands, hair loss, weight loss, muscle loss.

Emotionally: Insomnia that I could not sleep at all for days, anxiety, anguish, nervous, irritability, depression.

Eyes: building eyes, swelling eye lids, doble and blurring vision, dried and painful eyes.