How can I overcome traumatic memories from the past? Proving very difficult?

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hey guys

I hope all is well with you.

Currently I am a 26 try old student in London. Cut a long story short I am struggling very much with overcoming unsettling memories from my days at school and teenage years when I lived in Scotland.

The biggest fear of mine is that of one high school bully who tormented and threatened me every single day after I embarrassed myself in fights back then. Trouble is he was a friend when he though I was cool but after several embarrassing incidents suddenly turned on me.

My fault with this is I retaliated by lying and saying of he doesn't stop my brother and his gang will sort him out. This made him get worse and laugh even more at me and became intimidating as I knew that he was a likely gangster. Anyway one night he called me and said "I will bring it ass down easily as we arranged a foght, which was ofcourse lies I told". When o couldn't u can imagine how it got worse.

During that time none of this affected me, but now when I look back I get flashbacks which terrify me with the though of ever going into him.

Is there a way of can overcome this? Or do u think I'm exaggerating this fear?

Thanks very much for Ur help.

1 like, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

The bloke isnt worth thinking about. Whats a bully going to amount to in life, bugger all. Get on with making a success of your own life. You may feel ashamed that you couldnt deal with him. Take up boxing or a martial art. Will give you confidence of being able to handle yourself, and him if you ever run into him again. I was a bit of a whimp at school, though never really bullied. Took up weight training, to the extent, that i dont need to back down, if confronted by someone. Im not a thug myself, but its quite empowering to know you can deal with certain situations.
    • Posted