How much exercise?

Posted , 8 users are following.

9 wks TKR and am getting so confused over exercising. I was getting along slowly but surely ,then last week in physio I went on a cross trainer machine as I can't yet do a full rotation on bike. I think I've overstretched as back of both my knees have been aching for days! I have severe arthritis in my sacroiliac joint, fibromyalgia, a sacral nerve implant for bowel problems and also needing second knee TKR soon. I'm wondering why physio thinks that after one TKR I should be able to use these machines when I've never used them in my life before. The last 2 yrs I've shuffled round as my knees were so bad so even walking was very difficult. I've been doing my exercises at home regular and have this week been in the pool doing water exercise. Physio tells me one day I'm doing too much and to ice and elevate, next time they're putting me on a cross trainer!!!!! 

I really need some advice on how often and what specific exercises now at 9 weeks + and 100 deg bend. My knee feels very stiff every time I start walking and both the backs of my knees are really aching. 

Im just getting in a bit of a tizz with myself at the moment and soooo tired too 

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

I think you should think about sitting down with your gp and lay out your entire situation and seek advice from him, not only for you but also your PT. You and conditions are one of a kind and deserve one of a kind considerations.
  • Posted