Hypothyroidism when taking 60 mcg of T3 a day got Atrial F

Posted , 3 users are following.

My partner who has been taking up to 60 mcg/day of T3 supplementation since October 2015 has now got Atrial Fibrillation.  Is 60 mcg/day of T3

too much?

monsie

1 like, 15 replies

15 Replies

• Posted

Hello Monsie:

My name is Shelly and I am a nurse in the USA.  I have Hashimoto's Thyroid disease since 1987.

T3 is a powerful medication and a person should not be on more than 20mcg.  It effects the heart and is a powerful hormone.  So in short, that is a huge dose and should be reduced slowly.  Contact the doctor for an alternative such as Levothyroxine and a small dose of Liothyronine (T3).  Or better yet a natural  thyroid medication such as Armour Thyroid which contains T3 and T4 and is made from a pig's gland which is very close to a human's one

Keep us posted on how you do, any questions just ask,

Shelly

• Posted

Thanks Shelly

We are going through a very difficult time. We were told by a Yahoo

Group we both needed T3. In Australia is Tetroxin. We were in that

group for a year. We were trying to lower the very high rt3 we both

had. Wed were advised to carry on taking 80, 90, even 100 mcg/day.

I asked the Yahoo group a few times if I should decrease the intake

of 90 mcg of T3.  The moderator told me to stay on it.  

My partner has now AF. The doctors in the hospital want him to

stop T3 immediatelly and HC in 90 days.

Laurie has I think secondary Addison's disease.

I have already had an Addison's crisis in June 2015.

I have covered I a lot of ground.

So many contradictions

Thanks rolleyes...

• Posted

Why has this person been prescribed such a big dose I wonder?
    • Posted

When we joined the Yahoo group, we were told we had to take

t3 and increase it to 90mcg to even 100 mcg in order to minimise

the amount of high rt3 we both had. 12 weeks was the time. After

those to weeks we asked what we had to do and the Yahoo group