I almost bled to death from my period.

Posted , 2 users are following.

3 years ago, I had been bleeding heavy for 6 months. Birth control pills took the edge off but didn't fix the problem. I was pretty much bed-ridden. D&C was the only thing my gynecologist wanted to do - I knew this wouldn't be the best fix, or it could possible make it worse. But what choice did I have?

Through the course of what seemed like an eternity waiting for D&C, I kept bleeding. One day I woke up with a buzzing in my ears and a faint feeling every time I moved. The night before I had pains in my heart before I went to sleep.

I went to the ER, turns out my BLOOD COUNT WAS IN HALF. Read that again. It took 2 bags of blood to get me back to almost normal. Buzzing in your ears happens when you're close to the end from blood loss, so are heart pains.

That gynecologist was out the door. I found a new lifesaver, she is wonderful. We inserted a Mirena IUD and I'm happy to say I've been alive and well since. My living nightmare was finally over. But we never found a cause - just hormones, my age (36 at the time) and the fact I'd never had children.

I'm lucky to be alive. Surprisingly, I don't feel that way. I'm filled with PTSD, nightmares, horrible mood swings and the feeling of dread for what happens when I take the IUD out. If this makes any sense I never really wanted children but am upset at the fact that I probably can't.

If you've gotten this far thanks for hearing me out. Sometimes it makes you feel better just to get it out.

I'm living proof that if heavy periods go untreated, it can kill you. I was so close. Please don't ignore the signs.

1 like, 1 reply

1 Reply

• Posted